Academic Awards for Excellence 2017-18

Posted in School News

Academic Awards for Excellence 2017-18

Academic Awards for Excellence 2017-18

Presentation Secondary School, Clonmel celebrated the 22nd Annual Presentation Awards for Excellence in St. Mary’s Church Irishtown in October. The awards acknowledge the tremendous achievements of the girls across the whole spectrum in education in the school. The awards recognize that this pursuit of excellence is not confined to academic achievement but encompasses the whole range of activities that makes for a rounded and balanced education. The evening is a celebration of the achievements of the students over the past school year. The evening began a beautiful rendition of “One Step Beyond” by the Transition Year Choir under the guidance of music teachers, Ms. Siobhan Alley and Ms. Jennifer Williams.

The school was delighted to have Juanita Guidera HSE Staff Manager and past pupil, as our guest speaker. Juanita spoke about the value of fulfilling one’s own dreams and aspiration in their education and career paths.

Mrs.Ethel Reynolds (Principal) welcomed the large attendance which included special guests, Presentation Sisters from the local community and the trustees representatives, members of the Board of Management, Teachers, Parents, Sponsors and most importantly, the students themselves.

Certificates of Recognition of Outside Achievement in Extra Curricular Activity The evening started with a presentation by Mr Martin O’Loughlin & Ms. Marie Lawlor to over 90 girls for their involvement in extra-curricular activity. In presenting these certificates, the school recognized the outstanding achievements of the students in their chosen field of activity and is acknowledging the ambassadorial of the students on behalf of the school.

Student of the Year Awards

Student of the Year Awards

The Student of the Year Award from the 1st to 6th year groups were presented by the respective Year Head in association with the sponsor of each year group. Nominations from each year were invited on stage and with mounting tension, the Year Head read out the winner.

These awards were followed by the Academic Awards.

Academic Award

Junior Cert Academic Award

Mr. Michael O’Loughlin (Deputy Principal) presented the Junior Cert Academic Award to Lillie Wall, a past student of Ballymacarbry N.S..

Leaving Cert Academic Awards.

Mrs Reynolds (Principal) presented Leaving Cert Academic Awards.

Traditional Leaving Certificate Award was presented to Aoife O’Farrell, a past pupil of Grange N.S who achieved exceptional points in her Leaving Certificate. Aoife is now studying Engineering in UL.

Special Category Award

Special Category Awards

Special Category Awards were presented in areas such as CEIST award, Creativity, Enterprise & Initiative, Sports Awards, Student Peer Awards, Scientific Endeavour and Master Chef. These awards recognized the tremendous work by students outside the academic area and their participation in extra curricular areas in the school community.

After the presentation of the special category awards, the members of the Student Council were presented with the badges by the Student President, Aoife Walsh.

Mrs Reynolds concluded the ceremony by congratulating all the award recipients for their individual achievements and paid tribute to teachers & students for organizing the smooth running of the event.

The Award winners were as follows;

Academic Awards:

Junior Cert: Lillie Wall

Leaving Certificate: Aoife O’Farrell

Student of the Year:

Caoilfhoinn Conway (First Year)

Caoimhe Nolan (Second Year)

Molly Magner (Third Year)

Ana Paula Cusnaider (Fifth year)

Special Category Awards;

Hollie Burke (Creativity Art) Alanna Gilbert & Sarah Ní Cheallaigh (Creativity Art Sr.),

Enya Galligan, Lily O’Mahoney & Jenny Doyle (Enterprise and Initiative).

Nicole Delaney (Sports Junior) Courtney McGuire (Sports Senior)

Julie Holland, Saoirse O’Donovan & Katie Glynn (Scientific Endeavour)

Kayleigh Flannery (Junior Master Chef).

Sasha Buckley (CEIST Award)

Student Peer Awards:

First Year: Hannah O’Mahoney.

Second Year: Aine Reidy.

Third Year: Kate Leo & Serena Siaw.

Fifth Year: Savannah Dalton.

Sixth Year; Gemma English